Skip to content

Edinburgh Peter Conference: Online Registration Now Open

October 24, 2012

A few weeks ago I mentioned that we’re organizing a conference on the Apostle Peter here in Edinburgh, 4-6 July 2013, sponsored by our Centre for the Study of Christian Origins.  That earlier posting, giving basics of the conference is here.

I now report that the online registration/payment scheme is up and running on the “epay” system of the University.  The link to it is here.

We welcome scholars, students, and the wider interested public to what promises to be an informative and lively event.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Ben permalink

    Hi Larry,

    I am in the process of working out my view of scripture and there is a particular area which I know very little about – authorship of NT writings. And your latest post reminded me of this. I have two specific questions: Do you think that Peter wrote ‘2 Peter’? And do you think that Paul wrote ‘2 Timothy’?

    I would appreciate hearing your thoughts.

    Thanks,

    Ben

    • I don’t have any particular or distinctive wisdom on these matters. As the standard introductions indicate, there are good reasons for thinking that 2 Peter was written in Peter’s name (posthumously), and the same seems likely for 2 Timothy too.

      • Ben permalink

        Thanks for your reply Larry. If 2 Peter and 2 Timothy weren’t written by Peter and Paul respectively, what impact do you think this has on the doctrine of inspiration? Especially considering the fact that the two key texts often quoted in defense of inspiration occur in both of these letters (2 Tim 3.16 and 2 Pet 1.21)?

      • Dear Ben: This site is more about historical matters and less about such theological issues. But I’d think that “inspiration” is a theological/religious claim about the text(s) as in some sense reflective of divine purposes and involvement. But that says nothing necessarily about authorship or historical circumstances of composition.

      • Ben permalink

        Thanks Larry for taking the time to respond to my questions, even though they were more theological than historical in nature. I know you must be a very busy man.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,974 other followers

