Skip to content

Gospel of Mark

July 12, 2010

In the “Essays, etc” section of this site, I’ve just posted the manuscript of my contribution to the volume in honour of Prof. Sean Freyne.  (One of the disadvantages of publishing work in such volumes is that it may not get noticed as readily.  So, this immodest effort to widen the potential readership.)

In the view of many NT scholars, the Gospel of Mark is some sort of dark, ambiguous narrative (a kind of first-century “filme noire”).  Jesus’ crucifixion is often taken as the theological “high point”, and the resurrection account seen as almost an afterthought.  In particular, the famous final statements in 16:8 are typically read as indicating another pitiful failure (this one by the women at the tomb). 

I conduct my own investigation, focusing on the named women, who appear only in three scenes in the passion/resurrection narratives.  I propose that the author intends to make them crucial, I support the reading of 16:8 proposed earlier by David Catchpole (and endorsed now by others as well), and contend that Mark’s intended climax is the resurrection scene in 16:1-8.  It’s a minority/dissenting opinion (for now, but, hey, who knows?).

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Larry: You might be interested in the Sinaiticus Uncial Greek font then (available for download here). To see how Sinaiticus looks in comparison to SPDoric and SBL Greek in MS Word then see this screen-shot that I took. All the fonts are sized at 14pt in this picture.

    • The Sinaiticus font is useful. But it’s not quite as good for my purposes, for the characters reflect 4th cent CE hands, whereas the SPDoric font (e.g., the alpha) reflects something closer to the sort of hands that we have in the earlier MSS that I tend to work on.

  2. These are elegant fonts. The new SBL unicode fonts I have (free from the SBL, at http://www.sbl-site.org). But I wish someone would also prepare a unicode font equivalent to the SP doric font, which = Greek characters in majuscule, and the “lunate/open” sigma, etc. Much better for displaying manuscript texts.

  3. Awesome. If anyone needs help adding unicode to their Word or OpenOffice files for short bursts, I could possibly assist. I have also worked out effective ways to display Greek and Hebrew nicely in Unicode on Html pages using CSS. Check the following pages on your browser for compatibility, and also if you like the font-look

    (1) Hebrew (Gospel of John)
    http://adultera.awardspace.com/HEB-NT/DJOHN/John01.html

    (2) Greek (Gospel of John)
    http://adultera.awardspace.com/GNT/RP/John001-005-Accented.html#Joh1

  4. Hmm. I can’t help testing direct entry of unicode Greek and Hebrew here:

    (1) εν αρχη ην ο λογος και ο λογος ην προς τον θεον. (typed in on fly)

    (2) אמדלגמךדשםןגמכד (looks good in the editing box….here goes)

    p.s. You can do this in Windows by installing foreign language support, and then you can switch between Latin and Greek etc. from your keyboard, with an indicator on the Windows bar.

    peace
    Nazaroo

  5. jeremy permalink

    Thanks very much for this and the other posted essays, very appreciated. Have you considered switching over to using unicode for Greek? This would help eliminate additional fonts for readers to download in order to read the Greek. Anyway, thanks again.

    • Yes, a good idea. But the MSS I’ve posted in recent days were written some months (or even a few years) ago, and I’ve only recently come across the new SBL unicode Greek font. Formerly, I used the SP fonts (free and an intuitive keyboard, which the new SBL font doesn’t have).
      But in future I guess I need to get used to it.

Comments are closed.

