Skip to content

Three Years and Rolling On

August 13, 2013

Sometime in July this blog-site rolled past its third anniversary, and I’ve been meaning to observe it here.  I shall not rattle on unseemingly, but I do want to note the fact and re-affirm my aim of offering to “blogdom” a site in which I try to focus on matters related to the NT and Christian origins, and reflect the sort of work that scholars in the field conduct.  There are lots of other sites, some run by other scholars, some by students, some by amateurs (some of whom seem to have invested an impressive effort to “mug up” on matters), and some (waaay too many) by others who simply have this or that axe to grind and inflict their self-conferred (but unfounded) “expertise” on the world.

I commenced this site to offer to anyone who cares results and opinions from the “workshop” of a working scholar in the field.  I’m largely gratified at the responses and the interest shown, which continues to grow (to judge by the escalating number of subscribers).  It’s an extra task beyond simply getting on with my own research and publications (largely intended for other scholars and “serious” readers).  But I continue to think it worth the effort.  Readers can choose where to browse and who to trust.  I will continue to set out my “stall” for those who are interested.

From → Uncategorized

19 Comments
  1. Michael Brugge permalink

    Dr. Hurtado, I am another layman who lurks here frequently and enjoys your posts. I have been reading your Lord Jesus Christ for five years, and am nearly finished. What keeps happening to me is that your comments, or your footnotes, will send me to the internet or to the library, and I may spend two or three months reading some other work before I come back to your work to continue. I have gained much more knowledge through this reading than I could have picked up from a year at college. Thanks very much.

  2. David Worsley permalink

    This is certainly one of my favourite blogs. As a non-scholar I am not sure that I always understand you correctly, but you have certainly affected the way I see things, coming from a ‘unitarian’ position! Still find that position pulling me but can see where you are coming from! Just have one of your books and must now read it!

  3. Bobby Nemeth permalink

    Very grateful for your posts! I have told many people about the great work that you do on here and the substantial advice you give, as far as “texts that must be read.” I would love to see more of those posts from you in the near future. Looking forward to reading you more in the upcoming year.

  4. Ross Macdonald permalink

    This happens to be one of my favorite blogs – so here’s to three (and many more beyond) more years.

  5. M Gould permalink

    God bless you. I suspect it’s a bit of a trial for you (one remembers the invasion of the Jesus-mythers) but as an ignorant but interested amateur in the study of The New Testament I have always found your blog fascinating (even when occasionally you get a bit too deeply for me into some esoteric academic topic).
    You are always very polite in your responses (which quality in this area and on the internet, I suspect, tends to roughly correlate with the knowledge of the host).
    Hope you keep up the good work. It reflects well on the academic institution with which you are affiliated.

  6. thanks for the effort. i’m thankful i found you.

  7. Lorenzo permalink

    Keep up the good work! I am the admin of a “Studies on Early Christianity” forum and I use your posts as source of inspirations to discuss new topics. Also, your works on “early high Christology ” (early devotion to Jesus Christ) are widely influential on scholar orientation on this matter.

  8. Rob S. permalink

    Dr Hurtado—- It sounds like a part of you is ready to lay down the burden of posting here, but be assured of this reader’s thanks for carrying this cross. I look forward to continue learning from your substantive posts. May God continue to bless your blogging!

  9. Long may it continue..Thank you for your time and effort in making scholarly expertise available to interested parties.

  10. Doug Bridges permalink

    Thanks for the blog, for your books, for your scholarship, for your dedication….your passion

  11. samtsang98 permalink

    many thanks. It’s a great blog.

  12. Congratulations, and thanks so much for the encouragement your blog provides!

  13. Cass permalink

    As I student in exactly this subject, I really appreciate your blog. I engaged in a flurry of discussion yesterday with friends around your recent post on the provenance of “son of man”–all much fun and intriguing to us each for different reasons. Thank you.

  14. dougpierocarey permalink

    Thank you for your effort. I have learned a great deal from the reading. Staurograms, knowledge of the practicality of the codex, and details about Secret Mark all leap to mind. If you can keep it up, please do.

  15. Thank you for being an effective, persuasive broker of truth and exemplar of authentic scholarship. Through your blog, I am “transported” to your study and gain glimpses of how you wrestle with research issues. May God continue to bless your generosity and life-long dedication.

  16. Congratulations on your three years. And speaking of scholars blogging about early Christianity, I would like to ask a couple questions about the early Church Fathers and/or Apostolic Fathers. Who knows, maybe that was second century blogging. But that’s not my question. I’ve been looking over my copy of The Early Text of the New Testament, Charles E. Hill and Michael J. Kruger, and I noticed that these Fathers are mentioned frequently. I’ve always wondered about their reliability as textual witnesses, mostly because I could never really find any detailed information about the dates of their manuscripts. Is there a source where I could find this information? Maybe the Hill & Kruger book has it since I just briefly looked it over so far. Also, do any of these Church/Apostolic Fathers use nomina sacra in their manuscripts? Thanks…

    • The use of citations of NT writings in early “church fathers” is a complex matter. First, their ways of using/citing biblical texts vary considerably, from what appear to be careful/exact quotation through loose-to-paraphrased quotation, allusion, etc. Most NT text critics hold that only more exact quotations are really useful. Second, the manuscripts of these writers are typically much, much later than extant Greek manuscripts of the NT writings themselves. So, there is a textual history to the writings of the “fathers” just as there is for the NT writings, and there is some evidence of the writings of these “fathers” being sometimes adjusted such that the quotations reflect the text of NT writings known to the copyists. On the topic see, e.g., Gordon D. Fee, “The Use of Greek Patristic Citations in New Testament Textual Criticism: The State of the Question,” in ANRW 2.26/1, ed. W. Haase, pp. 246-65, republished in Eldon Jay Epp and Gordon D. Fee, , Studies in the Theory and Method of New Testament Textual Criticism, Studies and Documents, no. 45 (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993), 344-59.

  17. Happy birthday website🙂. Seriously many thanks Dr Hurtado for providing such a useful, engaging & informed (sic) site. Here’s to the coming years.

Comments are closed.

