Skip to content

Peter Craigie Lecture

January 11, 2016

I’m currently visiting the University of Calgary to give the Peter Craigie Lecture:  “A ‘Bookish’ Religion:  Reading, Writing, and Disseminating Texts in Early Christianity.” (Tuesday, 12 January, 7.30pm., if anyone nearby reads this blog site and would like to attend.)  The university online advert is here.

The lecture gives the gist of a chapter in my forthcoming book on early Christian distinctives in the Roman world (publication expected late summer 2016).

I knew Peter Craigie for a number of years and was shocked with many others at news of his death in an automobile crash in 1985.  For a brief bio on him, consult the Wikipedia article here.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Jim permalink

    I’ll be there!

  2. I am pretty sure, Larry, that your giving the Craigie Lecture the year after I gave it marks the first time, ever, that I’ve done anything ahead of you. I am utterly sure that it is also the last, big brother! I know you will wow ’em, and I urge Calgary-area friends to get out to what I’m sure will be a top-drawer orataion.

Comments are closed.

